Electric Wizard “Witchcult Today”

Electric Wizard
Witchcult Today
(Candlelight Records: 2007)

Rating: 8.6

I admit, I was apprehensive.  Fuck it.  Scared even.  You see Electric Wizard was one of my all time favorite bands.  Dopethrone and Come My Fanatics are full on DOOM classics.  Right up there with anything by the hallowed Sabbath.  Seriously, if a combination of Black Sabbath, Hawkwind, the Melvins and Eyehategod sound good to you, check those two out.1  But sometime after Let Us Prey, disaster struck.  No longer a coven of three drugged up DOOM alchemists, Mark Greening and Tim Bagshaw had quit the band, leaving Jus Oborn as THE lone wizard.  Oborn decided to soldier on and expanded the once potent power trio into a twin- guitar quartet.  It was time for me to jump ship, before I had to travel with one of my favorite bands to places I did not care to see them go, places so many once great bands inhabit after a time.  I had to cut the ties, and turn my back on the lifeless corpse that once sat on the DOOM throne.  It was painful, but much less so than seeing them decay and putrefy into a mediocre rock band.  The post-Let Us Prey Electric Wizard, for me, did not exist. 

 But something happened.  Something I had not counted on.  Something that I could not at first explain.  Several years later, I had a bizarre desire to hear more Electric Wizard.  Not the tried and true albums I already had mind you, but their new album.  I wanted to touch it, to hear it, to let it take control as their other albums had.  I found myself wanting, once again, to dominate a coven of witches’ assholes in some black magic death ritual, to sit under a black sun and feel its rays penetrate my soul, to strike the bell of DOOM.  I didn’t know it then, but my eternal rest from Electric Wizard had been violated by Drugula.  Drugula had risen from the graves of Geezer, Bill, Tony and Ozzy (I know, I know, this cannot have happened as they are not even dead, but just hold on) and bitten me.  The blood that coursed through my veins was laced with the DOOM drug and I was high.   I added Witchcult Today to my bloodstream and strung out I hunted the streets at night for naked bodies to drag back to my crypt.  Electric Wizard was back (or did they even go anywhere?  Had I abandoned them?) and so was I. 

 


1  and indeed, their new opus.  Especially if you think naming a song “Satanic Rites of Drugula” is possibly the coolest thing ever.

1 Comment

Filed under Album Review

One response to “Electric Wizard “Witchcult Today”

  1. Mushroom Revolutionary Group Member #251

    Ohhh Shittt!!! Two sweet metal albums reviewed in a row?! BDWPS is the shizzle! And the only thing better than going on a road trip is reading about one! This site has it going on!

Leave a Reply

